with the colour of flame

Flamingo comes from Portuguese or Spanish flamengo, “with the colour of flame”.

I’ve had a thing for flamingos since I was a little kid.  They are so awesome! I even had a giant poster with flamingos on my bedroom wall, it was one of my very favorite things.  Did you know that the ancient Egyptians considered flamingos to be a living representation of the God Ra?

So today I thought I’d share some fun flamingo things just because.

Also, if you love flamingos as much as me, or even just love a good nature doc, I highly recommend The Crimson Wing!

Leave a Reply

