how do i love thee? let me count the ways…

So I was digging around in a bunch of junk treasures that I have collected and that favorite guy of mine grabs an old ibrik out of the mess and says ‘what’s this!?’.  I tell him it’s for making Turkish coffee but I’ve never actually used it, I just like it.  He proceeds to Google how to use the mysterious contraption and make us some of the yummiest coffee ever.  I had no idea I was missing out so greatly in the world of coffee, and this is the reason-

The Italian espresso maker.  These things are wonderful!  They make the best coffee!  Or so I thought until the ibrik incident.  Now I feel a little like I’ve cheated on my Italian espresso, but I’m sure eventually it will get over it and find peace in sharing coffee time with the ibrik.  I think I love them both equally, it will just depend on what I’m in the mood for each morning.

Oh, the French press.  Another wonderful way to brew a great cup of jo.  Before the Italian espresso made it’s way into my life I was a die hard French press fan.  I know many people favor this method and and many will tell you the exact ‘right’ way to use it.  Coffee in general can cause some serious debate.  I still love me some French press from time to time, and it’s definitely a great way to get a good cup of coffee when you’re camping which is also something very important to me.

And then what about the Chemex coffee maker?  Or pour-0ver coffee as it’s also been called.  The very scientific coffee maker is beautiful to look at so it won me over there!  However, I have yet to agree that it is the BEST way to make coffee as many, many people will tell you.  I have not used this method myself,  but have had coffee made for me this way at a coffee shop that specializes in the pour over coffee.  It was indeed delicious but I’m guessing that had something to do with the very high quality coffee they used.  It did not convert me as you can tell, but I am certainly not opposed to  adding one of these pretty glass carafes to my collection of coffee making paraphernalia, even if it is mostly just to look at.

Tell me fellow coffee lovers, what method do you favor to use when brewing a good cup?

 

One thought on “how do i love thee? let me count the ways…

Leave a Reply

