black out

home of Victoria of sfgirlbybay.com

home of Victoria of sfgirlbybay.com

I remember when I was a teenager and I wanted to paint my bedroom black.  My mom was not having it!  I know I’m not the only one who had this conflict with their parents growing up and I’m wondering if maybe we never really grew out of it.  Black walls in interior design are becoming less and less faux pas and definitely looking much more elegant than they would have in most teenager’s bedrooms.

loft of tv and film producer Mark Taylor via hgtv.com

loft of tv and film producer Mark Taylor
via hgtv.com

In the bedroom of Amy Azzarito of Design Sponge,  the smart styling  makes the black paint feel fun and fresh.  Read the entire article about her Williamsburg apartment here.

bedroom of Amy Azzarito of designsponge.com

bedroom of Amy Azzarito of designsponge.com

Anyone who was a lover of Domino magazine surely remembers this bathroom. The black paint gives it a cozy elegance.

via Domino

via Domino

Maybe I never did grow out of my black phase as I’m sure my mom hoped I would, but I’m thinking that spaces like these just might changer her mind. Would you paint a wall in your home black? Maybe even a whole room?

One thought on “black out

Leave a Reply

